Thursday, May 16, 2013

Dr. Kathy Brown receives Parkway award

Southwest Baptist University News Release
Contact: Charlotte Marsch, Director of Marketing and Communications
(417) 328-1803 /

Dr. Kathy Brown receives Parkway award

BOLIVAR, Mo. Dr. Kathy Brown, professor of music, has been named the Parkway Distinguished Professor for 2013 at Southwest Baptist University. 

The award is presented annually by Parkway Baptist Church in St. Louis upon nomination by the SBU Deans Council. Each recipient is known as a Parkway Distinguished Professor and receives a monetary award.

A nominee must have full-time faculty rank at SBU, have taught at SBU for at least four years, have taught a minimum of 12 full-time equivalent teaching load hours during the past year and have not previously received this award. 

Previous Parkway Award Recipients are:
1990 — Bob Derryberry
1993 — Dan Cochran
1994 — Gordon Dutile
1995 — Darrell Strait
1996 — Mark Tappmeyer
1997 — Harlie Gallatin
1998 — Renee Waters
1999 — Carol Bevier
2000 — Bing Bayer
2001 — Richard Brewer
2002 — Wesley Gott
2003 — William Brown
2004 — Jeffery Waters
2005 — Robert Kitchin
2006 — Rodney Reeves
2007 — Herb Hamann
2008 — Timothy DeClue
2009 — Rosalyn Snellen
2010 — Martha Hicks
2011 — Kevin Hopkins
2012 — Donald Denton

Southwest Baptist University is a leader among private universities in truly integrating Christ-centered academic pursuits with comprehensive professional programs at an affordable price. At SBU, the faculty and staff create a caring, academic community to prepare students to be servant leaders in a global society. For more information, visit